Democrats elect new leadership for state House

7:41 PM, Nov 13, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

AUGUSTA, Maine (NEWS CENTER) - Maine's new Democratic majority in the state House of Representatives has elected nominees for leadership roles.

Rep Mark Eves, from North Berwick, will take over as Speaker of the HOuse. He beat three other contenders for the position: Rep. Terry Hayes of Buckfield, Rep. Michael Carey of Lewiston and Rep. Diane Russell of Portland.

Democrats also elected Rep. Seth Berry, of Bowdoinham, to the role of Majority Leader and Rep. Jeff McCabe of Skowhegan as Assistant Majority Leader.

Millicent MacFarland of Augusta was nominated to serve as Clerk of the House. She's got experience in the role, having Clerked from 200 to 2010. The Assistant Clerk nominee is former Representative Rob Hunt, who represented Buxton from 2008 to 2012.

The nominees will likely be elected by the full house on December 5th when the 126th legisliature is sworn in.


Most Watched Videos