Maine constitutional officers to take oaths

9:28 PM, Jan 6, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

AUGUSTA, Maine (AP) - Ceremonies marking the new legislative session will wind down with Gov. Paul LePage's swearing in of three constitutional officers and the state auditor.

Janet Mills returns to her former job as attorney general and Matthew Dunlap as secretary of state when they are sworn in Monday. Neria Douglass takes the oath of office for state treasurer. Douglass could not seek re-election to the state auditor post because of term limits.

Pola Buckley will be sworn in as state auditor.

Maine's constitutional officers and the state auditor are elected by the Legislature, instead of by voters. All four taking office Monday are Democrats, a reflection of the party's return to majority standing in the Legislature after the November election.

The Legislature gets down to business on Tuesday.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Most Watched Videos